Skip to main content

Minutes of the Meeting of the CIRA Board of Directors held via Webex on September 10, 2019 at 2:00 p.m.

Directors attending: Ryan Black, Don Bowman, Matthew Gamble,  Rowena Liang, Tyson Macaulay, Helen McDonald, Bill Sandiford, Rob Villeneuve

Advisors: John Demco, Byron Holland

Regrets: Alex Beraskow, Andrew Escobar, Jill Kowalchuk, Louise Macdonald,
Pamela Miller

Corporate Secretary: Paul Havey

Recording Secretary: Lynn Gravel

1. Appointment of the Corporate Secretary

The Chair of the Governance Committee reported that the Committee had considered three candidates for the position of Corporate Secretary and interviews were conducted with two candidates.

The Governance Committee was therefore recommending that the Board of Directors appoint Brigitte LeBlanc-Lapointe of Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP to the position of Secretary, subject to finalization of the related agreement, such person to hold office for the period and until such time in accordance with CIRA Bylaw No. 1, 8.2.

(Moved: B. Sandiford, seconded: R. Liang, unanimously carried)

2. Other Business

The Chair of the Board indicated that an update from the Compensation and Review Committee would be provided at the September 24 board meeting. 

Staff reminded the Board of the strategic planning process and timing of the FY21-FY25 Strategic Plan. A preliminary draft plan was sent to the Board earlier today and the Board is asked to provide written feedback in advance of the September 24 Board meeting.

3. Adjournment

There being no further business, on motion by R. Black and seconded by D. Bowman, the meeting was concluded at 2:20 p.m.